
Seven Landmarks Are Becoming Homes. Together They Add Fewer Than Bedok.
Marina Square, Yishun 10, Newport Plaza, Union Square, One Sophia and more will add roughly 1,293 homes over the next six years. Four ordinary land parcels in Bedok will add 3,185.
Seven major Singapore redevelopments are converting malls and offices into mixed-use projects with residential components: Marina Square (204 luxury homes, closing 31 March 2027, completing 2031), Yishun 10 (about 110 units, closing 2 March 2027), Newport Plaza (246 freehold units, completing 2027), Union Square (366 units, 2029), One Sophia (367 units, 2029), plus Orchard Central converting retail floors to office and JustCo Place adding 120+ co-living apartments. Summing the reported for-sale unit counts gives roughly 1,293 homes — against the 3,185 private homes that four GLS sites in the Bedok planning area alone will inject between 2025 and 2028. On our own read of URA private-sale records over the 12 months to 14 September 2026, most of these land in Singapore's dearest districts: D09 (Orchard) ran a median $3,253 psf for new sales against $2,356 for resales, while D27 (Yishun / Sembawang) ran $2,006 new against $1,345 resale — a 49% gap on just 120 new-sale transactions all year, all of them in one project.

Within a single week, two Singapore buildings that several generations have memories of announced they were closing. Marina Square, the mall that has anchored Marina Centre since 1986, said on 1 September it would shut on 31 March 2027. Yishun 10, the country's first cinema multiplex, said a day later it would cease operations on 2 March 2027. Both are being redeveloped. Both will come back with homes inside them.
The Straits Times set out this week how far this now goes: seven major redevelopments under way or planned, running from Orchard Road to Anson Road to Yishun Central, with completions stretching into the early 2030s. It is the most visible thing happening to Singapore's built environment right now.
So we added up the homes. Across all seven projects, using the unit counts in the reporting, the total comes to roughly 1,293.
Four government land sales sites in the Bedok planning area will deliver 3,185.
Two closures, announced a day apart
Marina Square closes 31 March 2027 and Yishun 10 on 2 March 2027, announced a day apart. Both return with homes inside.
Marina Square opened in 1986 on land reclaimed from the sea, and CNA traced its four decades from that reclamation through its 1983 naming to the mall people know now. Owner Singapore Land Group said on 1 September that it closes on 31 March 2027.
The next day, Frasers Property said Yishun 10 — Singapore's first cinema multiplex, at 51 Yishun Central 1 — would cease operations on 2 March 2027.
One is a four-decade Marina Centre institution. The other is a suburban cineplex on a 39,125 sq ft site. What they have in common is what happens next: both come back with flats in them.
That is not a coincidence of timing. It is the visible edge of a change in what Singapore does with its older commercial buildings, and The Straits Times counted seven of these projects running at once.
What is actually being built, at all seven
Seven projects: Marina Square (204 units), Yishun 10 (~110), Newport Plaza (246), Union Square (366), One Sophia (367), JustCo Place (120+ co-living) and Orchard Central (retail to office).
From the reporting, the pipeline as it stands:
| Project | What it was | Homes | Completion |
|---|---|---|---|
| Marina Square | Mall, Marina Centre | 204 luxury units in a 49-storey tower | 2031 |
| Yishun 10 | First cinema multiplex | ~110 units over a retail podium | not stated |
| Newport Plaza | Fuji Xerox Towers, 80 Anson Rd | 246 freehold units, levels 23–45 | 2027 |
| Union Square | Central Mall / Central Square | 366 units, 40 storeys | 2029 |
| One Sophia | Peace Centre | 367 units in two 19-storey towers | end-2029 |
| JustCo Place | OG Orchard Point | 120+ co-living apartments (not for sale) | Jan 2027 |
| Orchard Central | Mall | none — retail floors to office | ongoing |
Unit counts, uses and dates as reported by The Straits Times.
Marina Square also gets a 304-key hotel, a four-storey retail mall, three towers and about 13,000 sq m of office space, and will link to the Pan Pacific Singapore, Parkroyal Collection Marina Bay and Mandarin Oriental. Union Square pairs its residences with a 20-storey Grade A office tower across a 735,500 sq ft development. One Sophia adds 122 strata office suites and 127 strata retail units.
Newport Plaza is the one already selling. The Straits Times reports CDL sold 140 of its 246 units — about 57 per cent — on 1 February, and that over 80 per cent had been taken up by 3 September. Prices started at $1.298 million for a one-bedroom, $1.968 million for a two-bedroom, $3.238 million for a three-bedroom and $8.28 million for a four-bedroom premium unit.
Why a mall stops being a mall
Retail-only returns have fallen, and pre-selling homes during construction gives developers early liquidity. The residential component is largely a financing instrument.
The reasoning quoted in the reporting is unusually candid.
Nicholas Mak, chief research officer at Mogul.sg, told the paper these are decades-old buildings naturally due a revamp, and pointed at the opportunity cost: keeping a mall purely for retail no longer brings the "financial returns that they used to enjoy". He warned the capital expenditure makes these risky, while calling them a positive form of urban renewal.
Keith Ong of RealVantage gave the cash-flow version, and it is the clearest explanation of why homes keep appearing in these schemes: pre-selling residences during construction generates liquidity when a developer needs capital most. Offices, malls and serviced apartments "often take years to stabilise and may deliver a meaningful return only when they are refinanced or sold". Flats, by contrast, can be sold outright and early.
That is worth sitting with. The homes in these projects are not primarily a housing-policy outcome. They are a financing instrument — the part of a mixed-use scheme that funds the rest of it. Ong describes exactly that flexibility: sell the residences, keep the mall for recurring income, refinance or sell the office and hotel later, possibly to different partners.
It explains the unit counts, too. If residences are there to de-risk the scheme rather than to be the scheme, you build the number you need, not the number the site could hold.
How many homes do seven landmark redevelopments actually produce?
The seven projects total about 1,293 for-sale homes. Four GLS sites in Bedok alone deliver 3,185. Central redevelopment is not a housing supply strategy.
Add up the for-sale units in the reporting: 204 at Marina Square, about 110 at Yishun 10, 246 at Newport Plaza, 366 at Union Square and 367 at One Sophia. That is roughly 1,293 homes, plus 120-odd co-living apartments at JustCo Place that are rented rather than sold, and none at Orchard Central.
Roughly 1,293 homes, delivered between 2027 and 2031, across the most prominent redevelopment programme in the country.
For scale, the same newspaper reported last week that four government land sales sites in the Bedok planning area alone will inject 3,185 private homes between 2025 and 2028 — one of which, the New Upper Changi site, holds about 1,010 homes by itself.
The whole of the Marina Square redevelopment yields 204.
The two are not doing the same job, and the comparison is not entirely fair — Marina Square's site carries a mall, three linked hotels, a new 304-key hotel, offices and serviced apartments as well, while the Bedok plot carries homes and little else. But that is rather the point. Central redevelopment is not a housing supply strategy. It rejuvenates districts, upgrades retail and office stock, and produces a modest number of expensive flats as a by-product of the financing.
When Singapore actually needs housing volume, it sells suburban land. The headlines go to Marina Square; the homes come from Bedok.
Where do these homes land, and what do homes cost there?
D09 Orchard runs $3,253 psf new against $2,356 resale; D27 Yishun $2,006 against $1,345. Both Orchard Road projects add offices and rental co-living, not homes for sale.
Almost all of them land in expensive postal districts, which is the second half of why the unit counts stay small: expensive land, expensive flats, fewer of them.
From our own read of URA private-sale caveat records over the trailing 12 months, splitting each district by what was actually sold:
| District | New sale (median PSF) | Resale (median PSF) | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| D09 Orchard / Cairnhill / River Valley | $3,253 (552 sales) | $2,356 (675 sales) | 38% |
| D27 Yishun / Sembawang | $2,006 (120 sales) | $1,345 (585 sales) | 49% |
Orchard Central and JustCo Place both sit on Orchard Road, in District 9 — the second-priciest district in Singapore on our blended figures, at a median $2,876 per square foot across 1,236 sales. Neither, notably, is adding any for-sale homes at all: one is converting retail floors to office for Deloitte, the other is retrofitting serviced apartments into co-living units for rent.
That is a quiet signal about Orchard Road. In the most valuable retail district in the country, the two current interventions are office and rental — not flats for sale.
Only District 2 prices above District 9, and a project on this list is most of the reason: Newport Plaza's homes, sold as Newport Residences, made up 203 of District 2's 344 sales over the past year, at a median $3,082 per square foot, against $2,144 for the district's resales.
Is Yishun 10 a big deal for Yishun?
Yes, relatively. D27 saw only 120 new sales all year, all in one project, against 585 resales, with new stock at a 49% premium — a wider gap than Orchard's.
Frasers Property says its 110-unit project will be the first residential launch in Yishun Central in more than a decade. On our numbers, that claim about scarcity holds up.
District 27 recorded 768 priced private sales over the past year. Only 120 of them were new sales. Yishun and Sembawang between them have been running on resale stock, and resale stock priced at a median $1,345 per square foot — against $2,006 for whatever new supply did appear, a 49 per cent gap.
That gap is the interesting part. It is wider than Orchard's 38 per cent, in a district where the blended median of $1,403 is the second-lowest of the 27 districts we can rank. A new home in Yishun costs half again what an existing one does, and hardly any new homes come up.
So 110 units is small in absolute terms and not small for Yishun Central. It is also, on this evidence, likely to be priced a long way above the surrounding resale market — which is what a 49 per cent gap on 120 transactions a year tends to mean.
One honest note: 120 new sales is a thin base, and every one of them was in a single project, Canberra Crescent Residences — so the new-sale median describes that project more than the district. Read the direction, not the decimal.
The lease problem nobody has solved yet
Industrial sites carry 30-year leases; a saleable residential component needs 99. Savills' Alan Cheong says that mismatch decides whether conversions produce homes to buy or only to rent.
The most interesting constraint in the reporting got the least attention.
Alan Cheong, executive director of research and consultancy at Savills Singapore, told the paper that centrally located JTC estates could be the first to benefit from a live-work-play model, pointing at one-north as an existing example. Then he named the blocker: industrial properties come with 30-year leases. For a residential component to be saleable, that has to extend to 99 years. Otherwise the homes have to be rented rather than sold — and, he said, developers may need further incentives to accept that.
This matters beyond JTC estates. A tenure mismatch is what decides whether a mixed-use conversion produces flats people can buy, or only flats people can rent. JustCo Place is the live illustration sitting right there in the same list: serviced apartments on Orchard Road being retrofitted into 120-plus co-living units, for rent, not for sale.
It is the same question JTC and the Singapore Institute of Architects are now studying formally on two Toa Payoh sites — whether light industry and homes can share a building, and what has to change in planning rules for that to work. Cheong's answer is that the lease is where it will be won or lost.
The honest catch: slow, small and mostly not for you
Completions run to 2031, the seven projects total about 1,293 mostly-luxury homes, and our district figures are trailing context rather than a forecast.
Three limits worth stating plainly.
On timing. Marina Square completes in 2031. Union Square and One Sophia in 2029. Yishun 10 has no stated completion at all. Only Newport Plaza, at 2027, is close — and it is already more than 80 per cent sold. Anyone reading this as incoming supply is reading a decade, not a cycle.
On scale. About 1,293 homes across seven landmark projects. That is a rounding error against national volumes, and we would not expect it to move any district's prices. What it moves is the character of six or seven specific places.
On price. Newport Plaza's published start prices run from $1.298 million for a one-bedroom to $8.28 million for a four-bedroom premium unit. Marina Square's 204 units are described as luxury homes running from three-bedroom apartments to penthouses. These are not affordability-relevant projects, and nothing in them is aimed at a first-time buyer.
And on our own figures. Our district medians are transacted URA caveats over a trailing window that under-lodges at the recent end, so counts are a floor. New-sale and resale PSF are not like-for-like — new sales are developer-priced units in launching projects, resales are standing stock of every age, lease and condition. In D09, two projects supplied 39 per cent of the volume; in D27, the new-sale median rests on 120 transactions, all in one project. And none of these seven projects is in our transaction data at all yet, because none of them exists. The district figures are context for where they are landing, not a forecast of what they will fetch.
When do these redevelopments actually complete?
Newport Plaza 2027, Union Square 2029, One Sophia end-2029, Marina Square 2031. Yishun 10's completion is not stated.
On the reported timeline: Newport Plaza in 2027, Union Square in 2029, One Sophia by end-2029 and Marina Square in 2031. JustCo Place's retail and co-living apartments are slated to open from January 2027, and Orchard Central's affected retail tenants must move out by 30 November 2026.
Yishun 10 has an announced closure date of 2 March 2027 but no stated completion date in the reporting.
Marina Square and Yishun 10 both close in March 2027, so the visible disruption starts well before any of the new space arrives.
Will this make city-centre homes cheaper?
Unlikely. The volume is too small to act as supply and the units are at the luxury end; rejuvenation generally supports district values rather than lowering them.
There is no reason to expect so, and two reasons to expect the opposite.
The volume is too small to matter as supply — roughly 1,293 homes spread across five projects and six years. And the units being added are explicitly at the expensive end: luxury towers, freehold ultra-luxury floors, penthouses.
What redevelopment on this scale usually does to a district is the reverse. New retail, new offices, new hotels and a fresher public realm are the things that support values, which is a large part of why owners undertake them. Frasers said outright that adding Cuppage Terrace to its Orchard portfolio was about unlocking synergies across adjacent sites and long-term value creation.
This is general commentary rather than advice, and district prices depend on far more than any building programme.
How we sourced this
Corrected 15 September 2026: earlier sale counts were overstated and a Marina Square area comparison has been removed. Project details and analyst views come from the reporting; the 1,293 total is our arithmetic on those counts. The district medians are PropKaki's own, with the sample caveats stated.
⚠️ Corrected 15 September 2026. Two things in the version of this page published on 8 September were wrong.
Our sale counts were overstated. URA amends some caveat details after first publishing them — most often, on a new launch, whether the buyer's address is private or HDB — and our records had been keeping the original and the amended caveat as two sales. The double-counting fell almost entirely on new launches: District 9's new sales were given as 686 (now 552) and District 27's as 136 (now 120), and District 9's two busiest projects as 46 per cent of its volume (now 39). The re-run puts District 9's blended median at $2,876 rather than $2,985, which makes it the second-priciest district, not the priciest. It also takes in caveats that reached our records after the first run, which is why resale counts rose. The new-sale and resale medians moved by $7 psf or less, and neither gap changed.
And we compared two areas that were not alike. We set Marina Square's "site of more than 360,000 sq m", as The Straits Times described it, against the land area of a Bedok plot, and beside Yishun 10's site. Mothership describes the Marina Square complex as 9.2 hectares, so the larger figure looks like floor area rather than land. We have taken the comparison out; the point it made about homes does not depend on it.
The projects are not ours. Every unit count, site area, closure and completion date, floor and tower count, price, take-up figure, ownership detail and analyst quote — Marina Square's 204 units and 304-key hotel, Yishun 10's 110 units and 39,125 sq ft site, Newport Plaza's 246 units and start prices, Union Square's 366, One Sophia's 367, JustCo Place's co-living conversion, Orchard Central's office approval, the 3,185-home Bedok figure, and the views of Nicholas Mak, Keith Ong and Alan Cheong — comes from the reporting linked below. The 1,293 total is our own arithmetic on those reported counts, and nothing more than that.
The market figures are ours, and all of them are as of 14 September 2026. The district splits are our own medians over URA private-sale caveat records, trailing 365 days to that date, divided by URA type of sale: D09 at 552 new sales ($3,253 psf) and 675 resales ($2,356), blended $2,876 across 1,236 transactions; D27 at 120 new sales ($2,006) and 585 resales ($1,345), blended $1,403 across 768; D02 at 344 transactions, 203 of them at Newport Residences, with a resale median of $2,144. The district ranking is from the same records run across all 27 districts clearing a 20-sale floor over the trailing 12 months; District 9 ranks second and District 27 twenty-sixth whether or not landed homes are counted.
The caveats: transacted prices under-lodge at the recent end, so counts are a floor. New-sale and resale PSF are not like-for-like. A district median describes whatever transacted in it, so a district hosting a live launch reports that launch. D27's new-sale median rests on 120 transactions, all in one project, and should be read for direction only. And none of the seven projects appears in our data, because none is built.
Sources
The Straits Times survey of the redevelopment pipeline, CNA's Marina Square timeline, and the URA private-sale records behind our district figures.
The news:
- The Straits Times — More than retail: why Singapore commercial spaces are redeveloping to add homes and offices, 4 September 2026, including comment from Nicholas Mak of Mogul.sg, Keith Ong of RealVantage and Alan Cheong of Savills Singapore.
- CNA — Marina Square through the years: A timeline, 5 September 2026.
- Mothership — Marina Square mall to close in Mar. 2027 for redevelopment, new hotel, luxury homes & offices to be added, September 2026.
The data:
- PropKaki analysis of URA private-sale caveat records for postal districts 2, 9 and 27, trailing 365 days to 14 September 2026, split by type of sale.
- PropKaki median transacted private-sale PSF by postal district, trailing 12 months to 14 September 2026, 27 districts clearing a 20-sale floor, with and without landed homes.
About this commentary
Opinion and analysis from the PropKaki Editorial Desk - not financial or property advice.
This is commentary written by the PropKaki Editorial Desk on reporting by The Straits Times and CNA. The project details and the views of the analysts quoted belong to those newsrooms; the unit arithmetic, the district analysis, the framing and the opinions are ours.
It is opinion and general information — not financial, legal or property advice, and not a recommendation to buy or sell anything. Several of these projects have no announced launch date, price or unit mix, and all of those will materially affect what they are worth to a buyer.
Published 8 September 2026. Corrected 15 September 2026 — see How we sourced this.
Got a question this raised? Ask PropKaki.
Take any point from this analysis and apply it to your own project, budget or decision.
For most buyers this year, staying well within budget beats trying to time the market.
